top of page

Scientific Leads

Dr Rachel Climie  

Dr Rachel Climie is an NHMRC Emerging Leader, Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellow and Clinical Exercise Physiologist at the Menzies Institute for Medical Research, University of Tasmania. Her research is focused on the determinants and consequences of vascular ageing, commencing in early life. Rachel completed her PhD at the Menzies Institute for Medical Research and 2 years postdoctoral research studying cardiovascular epidemiology and arterial mechanics at Paris Research Center Cardiovasculaire (PARCC), France, where she is an Honorary Fellow. Rachel was awarded a Heart Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship (and Paul Korner Award) in 2020. 

Rachel is interested in the ageing of the blood vessels (vascular ageing) that commences early in life, the consequences of early vascular ageing (such as in patients with diabetes or cancer) and how exercise can be used to prevent or delay this. Rachel is a Chief Investigator of the European Collaboration in Science and Technology Action grant VascAgeNet ($1M) to translate vascular ageing research into clinical practice

Rachel Climie.jpg

Dr Rosa Maria  

Dr Rosa-Maria Bruno (MD, PhD) is Internal Medicine and Hypertension specialist, currently researcher at the Paris Cardiovascular Research Center (PARCC-INSERM) in France. She has authored more than100 publications in peer-reviewed, Pubmed-indexed scientific journals, with a H-index of 26 and more than 1800 citations. 

Rosa-Maria’s main field of research is the non-invasive evaluation of functional and structural vascular alterations in traditional and emerging cardiovascular risk factors, as well as sympathetic regulation of vascular function in hypertension. She is member of the Executive Committee of the Artery Society and of the ESC Council of Hypertension. She is among the initiators of the European Collaboration in Science and Technology (COST) Action VascAgeNet and leader of Working Group 4 (Data and research studies – big data approaches). 

Prof Elaine Urbina 

Prof Elaine Urbina is a Professor of Paediatrics (Cardiology) and the Director of Preventive Cardiology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Centre.  She began her Paediatric residency at University of San Francisco and then completed her Paediatric Cardiology fellowship at Tulane University in New Orleans, LA. where she began her research career with the Bogalusa Heart Study (BHS) under the leadership of Dr. Gerald Berenson.  She went on to join the staff of Tulane and led the non-invasive CV imaging studies for the BHS for over a decade.   

Currently, Elaine’s clinical activities and industry sponsored grants focus on prevention (obesity, hypertension and dyslipidaemias) while her research grants (AHA, NIH) and masters in epidemiology training concentrate on new non-invasive methods of assessing atherosclerotic CV target organ damage in youth related to CV risk factors especially those that cluster with obesity. She continues to pursue her own research and also provides cardiac and vascular training and/or core services to a variety of multi-centre NIH-funded paediatric studies including CKiDs (chronic kidney disease), TODAY2 (type 2 diabetes), SEARCH 3 (type 1 diabetes), Udenefil & FUEL (single ventricle), and DoIT (dyslipidaemia). Elaine is a Fellow of the American Heart Association and immediate past chair of the Atherosclerosis, Hypertension and Obesity in Youth committee of the CV Disease in the Young council of AHA.  She is also a member of the AHA research committee. 

Prof Pierre Boutouyrie 

Prof. Pierre Boutouyrie is clinical pharmacologist and cardiologist. He is involved in cardiovascular research from rare vascular diseases to large epidemiological cohorts. He has published more than 270 papers in international peer review journals, culminating in the Lancet (2010, 2016), European Heart Journal (2006, 2010, 2014), Circulation Research (2015). Prof. Pierre Boutouyrie has published more than 100 book chapters. He has an H-index of 67 with more than 20,000 citations, his 3 most cited papers cumulate more than 8,000 citations, which ranks them among the 0.001% top papers. He is involved in research networks at European and World level and has led multiple initiatives for establishing reference values for arterial parameters worldwide. 

Pierre is the current president of the ARTERY society, former chair of the Working Group on large arteries from European Society of hypertension, member of the French society of Pharmacology and therapeutics, the French Societies of Cardiology and Hypertension.  

Research Committee

The Research Committee is chaired by the Scientific Leads and determines the priority for proposed research. For each participating centre, one researcher acts as a representative on the Research Committee.  


There will be at least one annual meeting of the Research Committee. 

  • Alejandro Diaz

  • ​Andrea Kelly

  • ​Annelies Van Eyck

  • ​Anuradha Khadilkar

  • ​Brigitte Ranque

  • ​Dimitrios Terentes-Printzios

  • ​Elaine Urbina

  • ​Erzsebet Hidvegi

  • ​Francesca Saladini

  • ​Gary Pierce

  • ​Henner Hanssen

  • ​Hyeon Chang Kim

  • ​Ivan Cavero-Redondo

  • ​Lee Stoner

  • ​Madeleine Johansson

  • ​Maria Rodrigues-Machado

  • ​Olli Raitakari

  • ​Talía Sainz

  • ​Vikas R. Dharnidharka

  • David Celermajer 

  • Giacomo Pucci

  • José Mill

  • Manish Sinha

  • Michel Strauss

  • Mieczyslaw Litwin

  • Piotr Skrzypczyk

  • Robert Peck

  • Ruan Kruger

  • Yanina Zócalo

bottom of page